In what seems to be an attempt to curtain deactivations, Facebook in its infinite wisdom has started to allow users to unfriend deactivated users. Here are a couple of screenshots and the text in the screenshot:
Account InactiveThis account has been deactivated. Only you can see [redacted] on your friends list. You have the option to unfriend [redacted, link removed].
While you are deactivated, your profile picture no longer seems to appear on the friends list for people who you were already friends with but this default boilerplate image seems to appear instead:
So, once again, let me clarify this: If you were asking, can people unfriend me while I am deactivated the answer seems to be yes, they can.